Spotlight Administrators can use the built-in User Management page to view all users in their Spotlight instance, add new ones, edit user information, and deactivate or reactivate users.
<Spotlight-URL>/admin/users or click on your user icon in the top right of any page in Spotlight and select Admin Panel to open the user management page.
Advanced user management configurations (setting password policies, integrating with external identity providers, etc) are documents in Spotlight's Cloud Administration: Manage users guide.
The list of Spotlight users includes all active accounts and all deactivated users. Click any of the columns in the user list to sort by that column. Click the same column again to reverse the sort order.
Add a user to Spotlight by clicking the button. The dialog that opens will ask for a username, first name, last name, and email address. All these fields are required.
- must be unique
- cannot be changed after the user is created
- can only contain the following lowercase characters:
- Email address
- must be unique
- must come from one of the domains that were whitelisted as part of your Spotlight configuration. Talk to Spotlight support if these need to be adjusted.
Once you enter all the information and click , the new user will be created in Spotlight. They will receive an email to confirm their email address and set their account password. Note that this email will be from Spotlight's internal "keycloak" system so users may want to search their mailboxes for "keycloak" if they are having trouble locating the welcome email.
If your button is greyed out it means you are already using all the available seats in your organization's Spotlight license. You cannot add new users unless you deactivate an existing user to free up a spot or talk with Spotlight support about increasing your number of seats.
Edit a user by clicking the button to the right of their name and selecting the "Edit" menu option. Make any changes you need in the dialog that opens then click to save your changes. First name, last name, and email address can be edited.
Users cannot be deleted from Spotlight but their accounts can be deactivated. Deactivated users cannot log in to Spotlight and do not count against your number of licensed users. All work they have done in Spotlight will remain in place and their user name will be flagged inside Spotlight with a "Deactivated" indication.
Deactivate a user by clicking the button to the right of their name and selecting the "Deactivate" menu option. A dialog will ask you to confirm that you want to deactivate the chosen user. When you click in that dialog the user will be deactivated.
Deactivated users cannot be added as collaborators on Workspaces but they will not be removed from workspaces they were on previously and they will still be listed as the owner for any assets they owned while active. Deactivated users can be reactivated and begin working where they left off.
Reactivate a user by clicking the button to the right of their name and selecting the "Activate" menu option. A dialog will ask you to confirm that you want to reactivate the chosen user.
When you click in that dialog the user will be reactivated. An error will appear if reactivating the user would take you beyond the number of licensed users for your organization's Spotlight.
Reactivated users retain ownership of all their old assets and can immediately log into Spotlight using their old password.